
I am sitting at the kitchen counter at 11:00 pm. I am supposed to be writing a lab report for Organic Chemistry. So, I figured this was the perfect opportunity to find something else to do.
Yes, lab reports: Just one more way to prove that I don't know what is going on.
The report is on Synthesis of Styrene. It didn't work. We figure the Trimethalchloride was not fully distilled. Guess that would do it. Yeah, that stuff... wow. Fume hoods are necessary when working with TMC. It'll wreck you.
My first lab report wasn't well accepted. I patterned it after the scientific paper in my technical writing class but I guess it wasn't what the TA was looking for. Frankly, I really don't know how else to do it, so it will be the same way this time and I will talk it over with her.
This report was due last week but I was so sick. I couldn't think of breathing in any kinds of fumes. Had some kind of respiratory mess that is sweeping the south and has the CDC on edge. It still isn't gone, but I can function very well again. Besides that, the lab last week was canceled and I was so glad. It is one of the longest labs of the semester and I didn't want to have to make it up. Apparently some dichloromethane was spilled and the Huntsville Fire Dept had to be involved some way. I will find out tomorrow what happened. Always something going on in the Wilson Hall labs!
